An Interview with Author Radha Sawana

Author Radha Sawana’s short story Bella Donna, is one of my favourite thrillers from the book, Sirens Spell Danger. I thoroughly enjoyed this gripping story with a mysterious serial killer and an unknown poison. Here is a small interview with the author about her story –

1) How did writing happen to you? 

It happened a bit unknowingly. I started my blog so as to share my views, like everyone does. I didn’t expect people to like my writing, but to my surprise, they did.

I then took part in there second edition of Indifiction Workshop so as to gauge my fiction writing skills. It turned out to be quite an encouraging experience, and so, here I am.

At a more fundamental level, I think everyone who reads, consciously or unconsciously starts constructing their own stories in their head. They are bound to write those stories someday.

2) Bella Donna had a lot to do with chemistry. Did you do a lot of research to get the plot right?

Yes. The plot depended on the unique chemistry of poisons and the clues placed. There was a long research phase before I could start plotting and then writing.

3) What inspired you to write a thriller? 

I am very new to writing and haven’t found my genre

 yet. When my co-authors suggested thriller, I decided to give it a try.

4) What are you writing now?

I am a slow writer. Currently planning to finish a series called Seven (http://blog.radhasawana.in/2013/09/seven-part-i/ ) which I had started a long time ago on my blog. Then there are many short stories clamouring to be written 🙂

About Radha 
Radha Sawana is part secretive, part playful, part ambitious, part indolent, and as a result, completely confused. She has been a bookworm as far as she can remember, and so it came as no surprise to her when suddenly the thought of starting her own blog occurred her. Thus, in the 4th year of her education in BITS Pilani, she started her blog ‘Entropy’, the name paying homage to her subject of specialization – chemistry. 
 
Entropy began with the random thoughts of her mind and before she realized it, she had started writing short stories too. Her first stories – The Late Goodbyeand 48 Hours – were widely loved. Her personal favourite on her blog is her stilluntitled collection of three short pieces called Harakiri, Saisei and Wind. She is currently writing a seven-part story called Seven. 
 
Stalk her @
       
About sumeethamanikandan

Sumeetha Manikandan, a freelance content writer is an English literature graduate with a journalism and mass communication diploma. She lives in Chennai with her husband and daughter. After a decade long career in dotcom industry, she started working as a content writer from home. She wrote her debut novel, ‘The Perfect Groom’ as a script for a serial, which she converted into a novella for Indireads.
This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Interview with Author Radha Sawana

  1. sundarivenkat says:

    Nice interview! short & sweet. I thought that the chemistry research was superbly woven in the story. Amazing

  2. Pingback: Sirens Spell Danger by C.Suresh, Radha Sawana and Karthik L: Day9 of the Blog Tour : Review by Sumeetha Manikandan | The Book Club Tours

Leave a Reply

